clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2021 SEC Tournament Champions: THE Arkansas Razorbacks

Florida v Arkansas Photo by Wesley Hitt/Getty Images

The Arkansas Razorbacks win the SEC Championship in the conference tournament on Sunday versus Tennessee 7-2.

The Razorbacks are the third team since the expansion of the Southeastern Conference in 2012.

If you want to know why Arkansas was in this position it’s due to Arkansas winning every single game, never went to the losers bracket and they were never really threatened to lose a single game.

Jalen Battles has been absolutely incredible during the tournament but raised it up a notch with his play on Sunday.

Robert Moore and Battles were quite a pair converting on several close calls. Including a third double play of the game in the eighth inning. There isn’t a single pair of middle infielders in the country that can compare to what Arkansas has in this duo.

Tennessee got the scoring going first when Drew Gilbert drove Jake Rucker home in the first.

Arkansas finally got their bats going in the fifth. Cullen Smith walked, Casey Opitz singled and Jalen Battles singled to score Smith and tie game at one apiece.

In the top of the seventh, Battles would hit a solo shot to extend the Hogs lead to 4-1.

Then, Kevin Kopps entered the game and surrendered a home run to Pete Derkay. That would pull the Volunteers within two 4-2.

Arkansas would hit a three run home run by Smith in the eighth inning to extend their lead to 7-2 and not look back!

Arkansas wins the SEC Championship Tournament for the first time in team history!