clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Throwback Thursday: SEC West Champs

The Hogs ended the regular season on a high note.

Corliss Williamson Getty Images

Arkansas clinched the SEC Western Division for the third straight year on this week 25 years ago with a convincing victory over Mississippi State, 80-62.

The win also clinched an undefeated home mark in the program’s new building.

It served as more revenge as Mississippi State, along with Alabama, were the only two teams to defeat Arkansas during the regular season.

Corliss Williamson led all scorers with 27 points and Scotty Thurman chipped in 15. Roger Crawford and Ken Biley drew the start in their final home game as Razorbacks.

Arkansas also limited Erick Dampier to only 5 points, but Bulldog guard Darryl Wilson scored a team-high 24.

Earlier in the week, the Razorbacks had gotten the upper hand over LSU in overtime on the road, 108-105. It took clutch 3-point shooting from Thurman and Al Dillard, but they prevailed.

Andre Owens was at the line and could’ve iced the game for LSU in regulation, but he missed his second free throw and Thurman got the rebound and quickly got it up court to Dillard, who pump faked and drilled a trifecta to tie it at 93 with 4.1 seconds remaining and sent the game to an extra five minutes.