clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Arkansas Releases Nonconference Basketball Schedule

New, 2 comments

I mean, you can be the judge of these games.

NCAA Basketball: Auburn at Arkansas Gunnar Rathbun-USA TODAY Sports

Arkansas dropped its nonconference basketball schedule this morning. And I hope fans are excited about the group of guys Mike Anderson has right now, because there’s not a whole lot to get fired up about with these home games.

Obviously, the highlight of the nonconference for most will be facing Texas down in Houston, then at Oklahoma State. Those are the most exciting games in the nonconference, and they’re both on the road. Razorback fans will have to settle for Houston, I guess, for a solid home game.

Houston will come to Bud Walton Arena Dec. 6, and that’s personally the only home game I’m looking forward to. Stephen F. Austin would be a more intriguing matchup if Thomas Walkup, who shined in the NCAA Tournament last year, were back. The Lumberjacks’ top three scorers from last season are no longer with the program.

It’s just wholly underwhelming to me. Here’s a look at the full nonconference schedule (minus the two exhibitions):

  • Friday, Nov. 11 – Fort Wayne
  • Monday, Nov. 14 – Southern Illinois
  • Friday, Nov. 18 – UT Arlington
  • Tuesday, Nov. 22 – at Minnesota
  • Monday, Nov. 28 – Mount Saint Mary’s
  • Thursday, Dec. 1 – Stephen F. Austin
  • Saturday, Dec. 3 – Austin Peay
  • Tuesday, Dec. 6 – Houston
  • Saturday, Dec. 10 – North Florida
  • Saturday, Dec. 17 – Texas (in Houston)
  • Tuesday, Dec. 20 – North Dakota State
  • Thursday, Dec. 22 – Sam Houston State (NLR)
  • Saturday, Jan. 28 – at Oklahoma State

Despite there not being many fun home games on the schedule before SEC play starts, it does set the Razorbacks up to get some wins under them, as well as allow the players to figure out how exactly to play with one another. I can’t imagine Arkansas dropping more than two of these games at the most, though.

I also couldn’t help but notice Arkansas having five schools from Texas on the schedule, too. If you want team-by-team information on Arkansas’ opponents you can click here. You may see it differently, but I’m not overly excited about these games, especially at home.