clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Four Razorbacks Named To Coaches All-SEC Teams; Brandon Allen Snubbed?

Hunter Henry and Sebastian Tretola earned first team recognition, and Alex Collins and Dan Skipper were named to the second team.

Marvin Gentry-USA TODAY Sports

The SEC coaches (or SIDs or whoever) have voted for their All-SEC teams and four Razorbacks were honored.

Hunter Henry and Sebastian Tretola were both named to the first team while Alex Collins and Dan Skipper were named second team.

The four selections are not surprises. Henry is a finalist for the Mackey Award, given to the nation's top tight end and was named to the USA Today All-America first team earlier today. Tretola and Skipper have both won SEC Offensive Lineman of the Week honors. Collins' season in most years would easily garner first team status, but found himself competing against two of the best in SEC history.

The bigger question is what about Brandon Allen? We all knew Allen, Dak Prescott, and Chad Kelly would battle it out for the two spots, but there's certainly a good case to make that Allen should get one of the two spots.

Allen is obviously the highest rated of the three, threw the most touchdowns while attempting much fewer passes, and the most yards per attempt. And as all Hog fans know, threw 13 touchdowns over two incredible games.

The counterargument is in total yards, completion percentage, and in rushing yards. Both Prescott and Kelly were far more effective runners than Allen.

Another questionable choice is the omission of Drew Morgan. There are three receivers picked for both the first and second teams, and Morgan was not one of the six, despite leading the SEC in touchdown receptions with 10 and tying for 7th in the league in receiving yards. The top six yardage receivers were named in the six places.

It will be interesting to see the media vote and how closely it resembles the coaches' vote. It should be released soon. Possibly tomorrow.