clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dan Hampton, Danny Ford on 2017 CFB Hall of Fame Ballot

Hampton and Ford among 75 players and 6 FBS coaches on the ballot


Arkansas Razorbacks football legend Dan Hampton and former head coach Danny Ford are among the 75 players and six FBS coaches on the 2017 College Football Hall of Fame ballot.

The announcement of the 2017 class will be made Jan. 6, 2017 in Tampa, Florida before the College Football Playoff National Championship Jan. 9, 2017. The inductees, like last season, will be a part of the pre game festivities and the coin toss.

Dan Hampton, already a member of the NFL Hall of Fame, is making his debut on the College Football Hall of Fame ballot this year. A first team All-American in 1978, he helped take down No. 2 Oklahoma in the Orange Bowl when the Hogs seemed to be fairly outmanned heading in.

During his senior season of '78, he was named the Houston Post Outstanding Player of the Year in the SWC and recorded 18 tackles for loss (32 for his Arkansas career).

In 1991, Hampton was elected to the Arkansas Hall of Honor and the following year voted into the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame. He was also later named to the University of Arkansas' All-Century team. He's currently the host of the Chicago Bears post-game show on WGN Radio.

Danny Ford should be on the ballot just for taking the Arkansas job in 1993 after the disastrous loss to The Citadel a year earlier. By 1995, Ford had Arkansas atop of the SEC West for the first time since joining the league. The Razorbacks have won the division just three times since, none since 2006.

While Ford will mostly be remembered by Arkansas fans as the head coach of '95 team with Madre Hill leading the way, he finished with a sub-.500 record at the school (26-30-1) and had already established himself as a winner at Clemson following a 12-0 season and a national title in 1981.

Should Hampton and Ford be voted in, the class will be inducted Dec. 5, 2017 in New York City and later be enshrined at the new College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta later that December.

The 2017 class will also be honored on the field during the 13th Annual National Hall of Fame Salute during the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl.

Lots of great players, including Erick Dickerson, Marshall Faulk, Colorado's Eric Bieniemy, Tony Gonzalez, Torry Holt, Peyton Manning, Brian Urlacher will be on the ballot as well with many other greats.