clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Arkansas Razorbacks 6, Mississippi State Bulldogs 1: RazorFest Triumph

26-17, 11-9


Arkansas took its fifth consecutive SEC series in front of a raucous Baum Stadium crowd on Saturday night, 6-1 over Mississippi State.

The third largest contingent of Razorback fans ever to watch a game at the 20-year-old facility (10,837) saw Dominic Taccolini post one of the best outings of his career.

The sophomore from Sugar Land, Texas worked 6.2 innings, allowing only a single run on four hits while striking out five and walking four.

Arkansas got on the board first when Brett McAfee raked one down the right field line for a two-run double in the bottom of the fourth inning.

Later in the inning, Carson Shaddy was hit by a pitch with the bases loaded, giving the Hogs a 3-0 lead.

MSU plated its only run in the top of the seventh on a RBI groundout by Jake Vickerson and Taccolini hit the next Bulldog he faced, so Van Horn pulled him in favor of Lance Phillips.

James Teague worked the eighth and ninth innings and held MSU scoreless, while Tyler Spoon, Chad Spanberger and McAfee all added insurance RBIs to set the final.

With the series win, it was the first time since 2004 that a Diamond Hog team has won five or more consecutive series in conference play.

That 2004 team was the last time the Hogs won the league and made the team's first trip to Omaha since 1989, and was the first of three trips under Dave Van Horn.

The paid attendance of 12,589, a Baum Stadium record, was boosted by the spring football game that was held earlier in the day.

Arkansas will go for its first sweep of the SEC campaign tomorrow when Keaton McKinney takes the ball at 1:05. Television coverage will be handled by SEC Network+.