clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Four Hogs Named To AP All-SEC Teams

Despite the disappointing season, four Razorbacks earn media honors from the AP, including two freshmen.

Nelson Chenault-USA TODAY Sports

The 2013 AP All-SEC selections were released today, with four Razorbacks earning a spot on the list.

Not surprisingly, leading the way is Travis Swanson, who picked up a 1st-Team center selection.  Bielema has previously said that Swanson, a Remington Trophy finalist, is the "best center he's ever coached."  This season, Swanson paved the way for nearly 2000 combined rushing yards from tailbacks Jonathan Williams and Alex Collins.  Notably, next season will be the first time in 50 games that Swanson won't be starting at center.

Rounding out the the 2nd-Team selections are Zach Hocker at K and Hunter Henry at TE.  Hocker ends his career as one of the most decorated kickers in school history, owning school records for total points (354), points scored as a kicker (354), PATs converted (171), and tied the school record for FGs made (61).  Henry was a bright spot on offense this season, pulling in 28 receptions for 409 yards and 4 TDs.

The big news was freshman tailback Alex Collins being named Freshman of the Year.  Collins was the first Razorback player to rush for over 1000 yards in a season since Knile Davis did it in 2010(!), and became just the 10th true freshman in SEC history to rush for over 1000 yards, joining the likes of Darren McFadden.  Collins will undoubtedly be the subject of endless discussion and comparisons to DMac among Razorback fans during the offseason.

No Razorback defensive players were selected, but DEs Chris Smith and Trey Flowers not even being named Honorable Mentions seems like a fairly big snub.  Smith, in particular, had been a 1st-Team selection during SEC Media Days.